Raissa Simpson’s PUSH Dance Company Builds Vibrant Contemporary Dances To Gain A Deeper Understanding Of The Challenges Attributed To Mixed Heritage.

Since its inception, PUSHfest has presented works by distinct choreographers representing diverse genres of dance. PUSHfest is a cross-genre dance festival launched in 2014 by PUSH Dance Company. The Festival grew out of a critical need to provide a platform for dance to be appreciated as a diverse and culturally relevant entity within the San Francisco Bay Area. This unique festival showcases a wide range of dance styles that inspire dialogue and innovation among artists and audiences alike.


Thank you to all choreographers who submitted their work! Applications are now closed. Applicants will be notified in late March, 2020.

STEP 1: Fill out our online application. Note that the application requires a link to a youtube or Vimeo video of your completed work, which cannot exceed 8 minutes in length.

STEP 2: Pay the $45 application fee (subtract $10 if you apply and pay by January 24, 2020).

pay here
Performance Details

Performance Dates:

Friday September 18, 2020 at 8pm
Saturday September 19, 2020 at 8 pm
Sunday September 20, 2020 at 4:30 pm
Sunday September 20, 2020 at 7:30pm

Venue: ODC Theater, 3153 17th St, San Francisco, CA 94110

Duration of Work Presented: 8 minutes maximum

Genres: all styles/genres of dance

Music: recorded

Tech Details: PUSHfest is a low-tech production.

A maximum of five lighting cues will be allotted to each choreographer, including lights up and lights down.

Choreographer receives 30 minutes to tech, space, and run their piece on stage.

Stage Specs: The stage dimensions are 30’ deep x 43’ wide. There are no side wings (leg drapes). Crossovers are possible behind the white cyc. We will be using the white cyc as the background, meaning there’s no black scrim.

Submission Details & Timeline


January 1, 2020: PUSHfest Application Opens

January 24, 2020: Discount application deadline

February 17, 2020: Open application deadline

Late March 2020: Festival participants are notified

Mid April 2020: Festival participants are publicly announced


If your work is accepted into the Festival, you will be responsible for the following performance fee:

$45 – for works under 5 min. (total of $80 including the application fee)

$115 – for 5 – 8 min. works (total of $150 including the application fee)

Eligibility & Requirements
  • Only completed works are eligible for submission to the Festival. No works-in-progress will be considered.
  • Applications must be submitted under the name of the choreographer of the work
  • No planned public performances in San Francisco of the selected work within 3 months prior to or 3 months after the Festival
  • Meet all deadlines for promotional materials made by PUSHfest administrative team
  • Program A artists must be available on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday tech & dress rehearsal the week of PUSHfest.
  • Program B artists must be available for a Thursday or Saturday tech & dress rehearsal the week of PUSHfest.
  • PUSHfest performances typically sell out.  If invited, your choreography will be seen by a diverse audience of arts enthusiasts from the San Francisco Bay Area & beyond
  • Networking opportunities with emerging to mid-career artists and performing groups
  • An automatic finalist spot for the PUSHfest Audience Choice Awards.
  • Two performances at ODC Theater in one of two curated programs
  • Two complimentary tickets per invited choreographer
  • A professional Publicist to implement a widespread marketing campaign (i.e. print, social media and radio)
  • 30-45 minute tech with our Technical Director which includes lighting design, sound and other technical assistance
  • PUSH Dance Company covers all production costs associated with theater rental, technical staff, programming and technical direction
Audience Choice Award

The PUSHfest Audience Choice Award (PACA) was created in 2015 to give audience members the opportunity to honor their favorite choreographer from each of the Festival’s four programs. Audience members vote for their favorite work at the end of each program. At the close of the Festival, one choreographer from Program A, B, C or D will receive a PACA award which includes a cash honorarium.

Curatorial Vision

PUSHfest showcases works from featured choreographers exemplifying different dance styles (i.e. modern, ballet, jazz, hip-hop, ethnic, multi-disciplinary). The Festival also serves as PUSH Dance Company’s fall season, during which the Company will premiere a new work.

PUSHLab Performance Workshop

In conjunction with PUSHfest, PUSH Dance Company annually hosts PUSHLab, a performance workshop that offers pre-professional dancers the opportunity to be part of the creation and performance of a new work for PUSHfest by the company’s current choreographer-in-residence.

Previous choreographers-in-residence include:

Katerina Wong

Ashley Gayle/Noah D. James III (Visceral Roots Dance Company)

Kao Saephanh (co-director of LV Dance Collective)

Courtney Hope/Hien Huynh

Registration opens in July for the Fall, for more information visit pushdance.org/pushlab.

A Complete List of PUSHfest Artists

2014 Program A
Randee Paufve
Sarah Bush Dance Project
Anandha Ray’s Quimera Tribe
Natasha Adorlee Johnson/Concept o4
Martha Zepeda/LV Dance Collective

2014 Program B
Tanya Chianese/ka.nei.see Collective
Jetta Martin
Jamie Ray Wright/DanceWright Project
Ashley Gayle
Chadi El-Khoury
Maura Townsend/Project21 Dance
Katerina Wong

2015 Program A
Nadhi Thekkek
Lindsey Renee Derry
Nina Haft
Luis Valverde
Elizabeth Shea
Martha Zepeda
Nhan Ho

2015 Program B
Katerina Wong
Ayana Yonesaka
Marika Brussel
Peter Cheng
Philip Flickinger
Lorelei Bayne
Adrianna Thompson

2016 Program A
Mary Carbonara
Amy Foley/Bellwether Dance Project
Joslynn Mathis Reed
Mariah Steele
Liv Schaffer
Shreelata Suresh
Alyssandra Katherine Wu

2016 Program B
Todd Thomas Brown & Co
Javan Wilson
Kameron N. Saunders
Amansu Eason/Red Clay Dance
Casey Lee Thorne and Dancers
Lalli Venkat
Angela Dice Nguyen

2017 Program A
Tanya Chianese
Claudia Anata Hubiak
Kendra Kimbrough-Barnes & Delina Patrice Brooks
Halifu Osumare
Agatha “Agatron”Rupniewski
Liv Schaffer & Cole Vernon
Adrianna Thompson
Lalli Venkat
Katerina Wong

2017 Program B
Adrian Arias
Lorelei Bayne
Claire Calalo
Mary Carbonara
Kathryn Florez
Jamal Jackson
Rebecca McCormac
Kao Vey Sebastian Saephanh

2018 Program A
Hayley Bowman
Denice Simpson Braga
Ashley Gayle & Noah D. James III
Alyssa Mitchel
Alleluia Panis
Jessica Recinos
Raissa Simpson
Anupama Srivastava

2018 Program B
Bernard Brown
Weslie Ching
Cherie Hill
Courtney Hope & Hien Huynh
Lissa Resnick
Jocelyn Reyes
Agatha “Agatron” Rupniewski
Martha L.Z. Pamintuan & Kao Vey Sebastian Saephanh
Kameron N. Saunders, SueMo: A Dance Experience
Ayo Walker
Luis Valverde